Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

9:18 p.m. - 2004-08-28
Week 2: Yes, as a matter of fact I DO solder... badly
Week 2: Yes, as a matter of fact I DO solder... badly

This week's theme is "Flowing Rivers".

I've been wanting to experiment with filigree for quite a while, so this week's theme seemed a perfect opportunity. I was thinking white water rapids � la MacKenzie/Ottawa Rivers.

I haven't soldered anything in a coon's age, and it shows *grin*. There's way too much solder on the joins, and in some places the solder flowed into the loops. In spite of the flaws, I really like the design. I think it would work well as a choker necklace.

Here's the clasp:

It took 14 sketches to get a design that flowed the way I wanted it to. Once I had the drawing, I cut a piece of 20 ga wire 1 foot long, and then started to make up the first section. Made the first swirl, then measured the remaining wire, made the second swirl, measured the remaining wire, and so on. The pattern repeats with four pieces of wire, and there are a total of five repeats.

Initially I wanted to put a border around the bangle, but after I got it assembled, I discovered that the 15 ga square wire was really too thick, and the 20 ga square wire was too thin. What is needed is a border cut from sheet, or alternatively, the wave section would make an interesting insert into a channel.

As it is the bangle is very delicate, and doesn't pass the Sweater Test.

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!